The Green Glens Waiting For Me

246

“Far across yonder blue lies a true fairy land

With the sea rippling over the shingle and sand

Where the gay honeysuckle is luring the bee

And the green glens of Antrim are calling to me” 

Kenneth North (pseudonym for Archie Montgomery) ©1950, Carolin Music, published by Southern Music Publishing, London, UK

This song, The Green Glens Of Antrim, has to be my all time favourite song.  Oh those beautiful green glens are magical to me and yes they do call to me all the time.

How I love to travel over the vast blue Atlantic Ocean to my ‘true fairy land’ of Northern Ireland where my father was born and so many cousins now live.

1032853

As a young girl I would listen to my father’s stories of his homeland; of the farm they called the Breen where the hills were rolling on and on.  He would talk often about the beautiful purple Heather that covered the hills in the distance.

There would be lots of time during my youth when I would be waiting to receive a treasured email letter from my Northern Irish cousins who were just as excited to know me as I was to know them.

I will never forget my very first visit as our jet plane came close enough for me to see these lovely green patches of farm fields that looked to go on forever into the distance.  What an exciting, fun-filled experience this was for my older sister and I.

Joan and I were so happy to be looking down from the large airplane onto the land that we had been told stories about since we were toddlers and besides that we were about to meet all these wonderful aunts, uncles and cousins who had the same last name as we did!

2887539588_372dcbec9f_b

That first trip was thirty-two years ago now.  Our wonderful aunts and uncles have now passed away but the memories will be with me forever.  Our father did travel over also two years after my first visit and what an amazing celebration it was for him and his brothers and sisters.  He has also passed away but thankfully made that journey when he did.

My journey over to this fairy land has not come to an end as I travel over as often as I can now.

I hope if anyone out there has a dream they want to fulfil that you won’t be waiting too long to realize it.  I hope you will experience a similar joy in your life as I was so fortunate to do.

 

 

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/waiting/

Some photos courtesy of;

https://www.flickr.com/photos/willbakker/

https://www.google.ca/search?q=Images+of+Northern+Ireland

6 thoughts on “The Green Glens Waiting For Me

Leave a Reply

