Silence? I Think Not!

8818254e-5387-44ed-816d-a51ef5947e8a

People say; Silence Is Golden!!

I always thought I wanted and enjoyed silence; oh and there are times that I certainly do!

Today I had the pleasure of having my two sweet young granddaughters, Lauren and Whitney come to my home early this morning before they went off to school.  Mom and Dad were going to work early and asked Grandma to please have the girls come to her house early and have Grandma drive them to school at the proper time.

I was so pleased to have them here; to hear their little voices in the house for a short time as they called to Grandma’s cats, Mazie and Ashes. Their goal was to coax them to come out from their hiding places for only a moment’s visit before they had to go on to school.

 

Many who live alone will agree that the silence can be deafening and just to have these little voices present for a short time was very, very welcome on this September morning.

It was a lovely warm day today and this Grandmother was so pleased that when the school day was ending I was going to have my little granddaughters back to stay with me for just a short while until Mommy came to pick them up at the end of her work day.

So many young parents, while experiencing the chaos in the morning, lunchtime, and evening would wish for just a few minutes silence, not realizing that one day they will have that so-called, “golden silence” and long for those young voices of chaos back again.  I know this because I was once that young parent myself!

Now I love to hear those voices in the house, to be experiencing a little chaos and laughter.

Silence; yes, it can be wonderfully peaceful.  It can be a beautiful time to rest and reflect; but, the sound of laughter and a child’s cheerful voice is now this Grandma’s golden moment!

 

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/silence/

4 thoughts on “Silence? I Think Not!

Leave a Reply

