Timely Elegance

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I have just returned from a three-week holiday visiting my brother in Terrace, British Columbia.  The beauty of the mountains, the clean fresh air and lovely lakes were all so amazing to me.

fim7105
Lava rock at sunset, Nisga’a Provincial Park, British Columbia

 

There was one place that my brother took me to that will stay in my memory forever.  It was the Nisga’a Memorial Lava Bed Provincial Park.

This park is believed to be the site of Canada’s latest volcanic eruption and lava flow, a geological disaster that killed an estimated 2000 people around the year 1700.  There were two villages of the Nisga’a people.

As we drove along this amazing Memorial Park I could see that it extended for miles upon miles.  What an awesome site to see.  The lava rock laying in place for over 300 years!!

“The park has waterfalls, pools, cinder cones, tree moulds, lava tubes, spatter cones, a lava-dammed lake, caves and other features created by lava flows. The park aims to protect moose, goats, marmots, bears and many other species of wildlife.” Wikipedia.org

I have never seen anything like this in my life before!

images

It would be my wish that everyone could travel here to see this amazing site.

There is certainly elegance in things if you only can see it!!

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/elegant/

Photos courtesy of: https://www.google.ca/search?q=nisga%27a+memorial+lava+bed+provincial

 

11 thoughts on “Timely Elegance

Leave a Reply

