A Childhood Wish

 

270Oh precious childhood full of giggles and fun

Please stay for a long while, don’t leave me, don’t run

Away from my life, please stay a long while

I promise to be the most kind little child

It is safe, it is fun, please don’t go so fast

I want this time to last and last

My toys are my anchor, my warm bed at night

Keeps me safe from the shadows

Till the sweet morning light.

Mommy and Daddy say be good and we’ll go

On a picnic tomorrow, oh I do love them so.

Oh childhood, my childhood I know you can’t stay

Someday you’ll be gone and I will find my way

To another adventure that waits for me soon

Little dolls, toy dishes, my precious balloon

The treasures they once were, packed away in a room

I now want to dance, meet with friends, and explore

So many new friends, many who I adore

Mom and Dad,  they can be so sure

That their child is growing and becoming mature

Childhood, last forever? It will not this is true

Every child has a time when they must let it go

But we can be assured of a promise we know

We will always be happy, we can’t turn around

We must move forward, keep our feet on the ground

And live a good life the best that we can

Every moment of the day, holding God’s steady hand.bollywood-celebrities-Childhood-photos

 

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/childhood/

Photo courtesy of Google Search

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “A Childhood Wish

Leave a Reply

