The Promise : A Grain of Mustard Seed

 

mustard-seed

When I was a young girl I was given a beautiful small white bible by my parents and this bible had a lovely trinket attached to the zippered covering.  It was a grain of mustard seed encased inside a little glass ball.  Throughout the years I have kept this wonderful gift.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The reminder of the scripture, “Truly I tell you, if you have faith as small as a mustard seed, you can say to this mountain, ‘Move from here to there,’ and it will move. Nothing will be impossible for you”  has stayed with me and comes into my mind every time to look at my small white bible.

How encouraging this one simple statement has been and has made a lasting impression in my life.  Through difficult times I have remembered these words and said them over to myself.

When I read today’s Daily Post Prompt Word,  Grain, this was the first thought that came to mind;  my little grain of mustard seed!!

il_fullxfull.831610160_rby6

I’m sure, when my mother gave me this precious gift she had no idea what an impact it would have on my life; but then again, maybe she did!

Now that I am a retired lady and grandmother I hope to pass my small bible along with the tiny mustard seed, so full of promise, along to my teenage granddaughter.  I know she will treasure it as much as I have along with all the meaning and comfort it can bring.

What better gift could I give her than a gift of a promise that “if she has the faith as small as that grain of mustard seed, anything is possible to her”.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/grain/

Photos courtesy of;                                                                                    https://www.google.com/search?q=grain+of+mustard+seed

 

9 thoughts on “The Promise : A Grain of Mustard Seed

Leave a Reply

