Mazie’s Solitude My Delight

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

Each morning as I come to my small home office my loving furry companion Mazie is beside me.  With two quick leaps she is perched on the top of the wooden filing cabinet beside the open window where she loves to sit and watch the birds and squirrels going about their daily routines.

how-keep-squirrels-away-bird-feeder-1

Watching this gentle animal, Mazie and witnessing the wonderment on her face plus the excitement she experiences as she keeps a keen eye on the visitors outside is such a pleasure for me.  Now that Spring is here I can open the window, adding the sounds of nature’s friends to be heard and enjoyed by Mazie and by me.images (4)

On this particular morning the solitude is quietly interrupted with the presence of raindrops falling softly and dancing on the rooftop just outside our window.  This is such a curiosity to Mazie as she peaks out cautiously, almost wanting to catch a drop of water as though it were a small rolling ball to chase.

christmas-tree

Oh, these mornings are so precious and enjoyed.  The serenity of nature on a rainy day is unmatched.  The birds chirping surrounded by the security of the evergreen branches, the squirrels hurrying about the branches oblivious to my Mazie watching safely behind a window screen.  Their senses tell these small creatures they are safe from the would be – could be predatory eyes.

cardinal_on_pine

How I would love to spend the whole day in this moment of quiet solitude but life is waiting and my day has to begin.

These treasured moments will come with me reminding me that no matter how hurried the rest of my day should become, I can return to this moment of solitude anytime I chose.  It is planted in my memory where it will stay forever.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/solitude/

Photos:  www.googlesearch.com/squirrels/birds

10 thoughts on “Mazie’s Solitude My Delight

Leave a Reply

