Take Me Home Country Road

24485433283_410a465549_c

Oh how much I love those country roads where I used to live.

I grew up in the city, not a very big city but one with a population of about 30,000 people.

As a city girl, I never had reason to venture out into the country; mind you we are talking about a few odd years ago in the 1960’s.

As fate would have it, I ended up marrying a farmer and moved far away from all my close houses, sidewalks and stores.

I thought “I’ll never get used to this”!  Living out in the country where there were no sidewalks, no paved streets, no close neighbours, no garbage pickup every Monday!

Well, needless to say, I did adjust to this new life.  The people I met were lovely, the air was fresh, and the silence was golden!

Now the years have passed and I’m living happily in the nearby town; but, oh I miss the country now.

The sunsets were so beautiful with no houses or trees to interfere with the view.

942549_10153999582945169_8051691091391009107_n

The moon was always visible as it was rising into the sky like a beautiful golden balloon and when it was dark the stars appeared like a blanket of diamonds sparkling as far as our eyes could see.

On warm evenings we could sit outside and look into the distance where the lights from the city across the lake would reflect on the clouds causing a bright yellow glow.

I miss walking down the gravel country road with my dog and not worrying about dodging traffic.

I especially remember walking along that road with my dog and a small plane flying overhead tipped his wings at me as I waved back.  What a special memory!

Yes, those are days gone by but will never be forgotten.  The simple days of farm life; simple yet wonderful!

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/street/

5 thoughts on “Take Me Home Country Road

Leave a Reply

