The Price and The Pride

I love this particular bridge and all that it stands for.   Although it is thousands of miles away from where I live I am always so thrilled and proud to be visiting Londonderry, Northern Ireland to walk across this amazing landmark and symbol of peace.

This beautiful Peace Bridge, which was recently built and opened to the public on June 25th, 2011 has been the latest attempt to bring Catholics and Protestants of this small country together in harmony with each other.

I visit my family  as often as I can fly over and each time I come they want to take me on a walk across the famous Peace Bridge of Derry; their pride and joy!  The days I’ve walked across have been cool enough to need a good warm jacket and I have to be sure to have my camera in hand!  What an experience.

The troubles that have existed for years and years are much less now and I am so thankful.  The people are wonderfully friendly, loving their music and inviting pubs.  The many shops offer so many memorabilia and tourists could so easily pack a suitcase with nothing else but souveniers and I’ve almost done on many occasions.

The Peace Bridge spans across the River Foyle from Guildhall Square on the west bank to Ebrington on the east bank.  Although the Catholics and the Protestants continue to live largely separate lives, Derry is a place of increasing prosperity and it’s a place where the people of the city want peace.

I am so proud of my heritage and look forward to the summer when I can again walk across this wonderful bridge; a symbol of a very proud and peaceful people!

 

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/price/

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “The Price and The Pride

  • Gorgeous bridge and heartwarming story, Mrs. Patricia. It’s always a good thing, hearing of people living in harmony and The Peace Bridge is a wonderful symbol of that. I hope one day that I’ll be able to visit and take my own walk.
    Hope you have a wonderful week and thank you so much for sharing!

    ~Susan

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

